book cover

So I actually sat down and got some reading done.  Jeez…I was unemployed for two 1/2 months and I just now got a chance to read. Lol.

The first book is a pseudo-classic, written in 1993, and pretty well-known.  It is The Celestine Prophecy, by James Redfield.  I don’t remember how I ended up with the book (I think this one, and my other ‘book of James,’ was from my aunt) is a little hazy.  I liked it, and I understand where the author was going with the concept of coincidences mentioned in the First Insight of the book, but I’m a little disappointed in how predictable they all were to me, and not to the main character of the book.  I thought, surely he would figure some of this out by the Sixth Insight.  I was wrong!  It is a good book; one which made me hungry for such a transformation or human evolution of consciousness to occur. I happened to catch a post on wordpress today that was, in fact, titled “a Harmonic Convergence.”  That it was poking fun at Sarah Palin made the post–and its reminder that I have books to talk about–even better. Some kind of coincidence, huh? 

I looked up information about this book before I read it, and was suprised to find that there were more, written about the remaining insights.  I will definitely check them out. Interested?  Go buy the book!

 

The other book was different in subject matter, to say the least.  I will say that A Million Little Pieces, by James Frey sucked me up and I read it as greedily and as quickly as I could.  I knew, from my aunt, that there was a great deal of controversy around the truthfulness of his “memoir”.  This was confirmed when I checked it out on Amazon, just to see how false it was before devoting any of my time to it.  The reviews are either really, really good or really, really critical.  You know authenticity is really doubted when employees of the treatment facility from the book (that is never named in it) claim that it is utterly false, while other reviewers link to articles that assert the same.  I value fiction just as much as I value non-fiction, so this is a betrayal of my trust.  I would have accepted the book if he just pushed it as fiction in the first place. Oprah actually blundered with this one when she added it to her book club…perhaps without that added press, not very many of us would have ever known about the book.  So, I’ll say that I enjoyed it, but I have never been an addict, and could easily fall into the fictional world that it was.  Because so many recovering addicts have reacted with alarm at the book, I would advise that anyone who is thinking of seeking treatment or is recovering should ABSOLUTELY NOT READ THIS BOOK.  But, if you like fiction, A Million Little Pieces is a decent diversion.  Buyer beware–check out the 1-star reviews and articles here first.